NaNoWriMo: Day 5 Updates, or All Work and No Sweets Makes Rachel a Very Sad Monkey

So, it is day 5 of Nanowrimo.  I am making slow progress. I am enjoying my book very much so far, but writing in deep point of view (DPOV) is mentally draining and it is very hard to make my daily quota of 1667 words.  My best output so far was for yesterday, at 1449 words.  I am beginning to think that my concept of a novel that is mostly in DPOV may be a bit too complicated and intensive for the high-speed marathon dash of Nano.

But I have realized something very important about my writing muse, which goes a long way to explaining why I have not had any luck in progressing on my previous WIPs.  It seems that I actually prefer to write in DPOV, and my older WIPs have all been plot-centered, focused on my characters doing, doing, doing, and going, going, going, but hardly anything at all  of what they think, feel, or sense.  It seems I need DPOV in order to maintain my motivation and interest.

The other issue I have with this WIP is the fact that every new chapter brings a new character and a new POV.  Which means I have to start from the beginning again, conceptualizing, plotting, and developing the character’s voice, motivations, and actions.  It takes time to get grounded in a new character, but once I manage to get in his or her head, it takes off.   And once I take off, I can write some pretty damn inspired stuff.   Let me share with you one passage I am particulary proud of:

Carolyn wiped her eyes of the tears that welled up at the memory of his words inside her.  She let her hair fall forward, a screen against the sight of him.  She kept her head down and scribbled into her notepad.
His voice stopped and someone else’s voice asked him some question she did not hear. She looked up, her silver pen heavy and thick in her fingers. Would he drink now? Oh please, let it be now. She wiped her sleeve on her forehead. Sweat soaked her hair. Hope and fear sank like the Titanic into her stomach, crashing and burning inside a sea of bile.

I am cooking pumpkin bread in the oven, and after I write a new batch of 1000 words, I will make chocolate chip cookies.  In the meantime, I am avoiding my word processor.  LET ME SHOW YOU A NEW WEBSITE I FOUND THE OTHER DAY!

It’s called “Merit Badger” where you can collect merit badges for all your accomplishments. Well-designed merit badges!  Here are some merit badges I collected today:

(You may click on the badges to be directed to the source page for descriptions.)

For doing Nano!

 

 

 

 

For getting 5,000 words squeezed out of my pulpy head!

 

 

 

 

For getting into the FLOW yesterday!

(Click the badge for a description of what FLOW means)

 

 

 

Because I’m so damn distractable–OOH LOOK SHINY NEW BADGES!!

 

What was I saying?

 

 

Go get your badges from the Merit Badger NOW.

5 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Day 5 Updates, or All Work and No Sweets Makes Rachel a Very Sad Monkey

  1. Seems to me that 1600 words a day is a ridiculously high quota unless you can sit down for a month and forget about earning a living..

    But what do I know.

    1. Well to be fair, if one really applies oneself–parks ass in chair and doesnt stop typing, even if one just types “this is crap” over and over and over again–one can easily make that quota.

      And even if one avoids writing redundant non-applicable crap, and still focuses on writing the story, typing diligently, one CAN conceivably write 250 words (1/7th) of the quota in a mere 30 minutes. It really shouldn’t–theoretically–be too hard.

      The key thing is “PARK BUTT IN CHAIR AND WRITE”

Leave a Reply

