Copycat Week: Weekend Recap

This week I am copying other people. Because its the only idea I’ve got.

First off, from WIGSF, whose regular blog feature “Weekend Recap” inspires today’s post:

Rachel’s extra special Holiday Weekend Recap!

Thursday, Christmas Eve
Did NOT have the day off from work. Worked all day, 7:30 to 3:30. Normally I work until 4, but They decided to let us peons out a half our early. Merry Christmas, right? Got home, took a long hot bath with a book, and chatted online with several people for a while.

Friday, Christmas Day
Woke up around 10 am. After getting dressed and feeding the cat, went to my sister’s for some christmas family time. Santa left me a pair of glittery striped socks. Thanks, Santa! Spent most of the day chatting with Sister, who was like a zombie (because her kids are 7 and 4, respectively, and woke up at 5:30). We all had prime rib roast for dinner, and watched A Christmas Story, the only christmas movie I like. Went home before the expected ice storm was supposed to arrive–it never did.

Saturday, day after Christmas
Woke up to my cat walking on my head. Started doing my chores and errands. After feeding the cat her wet turkey sludge (stuff looks disgusting but she loves it), I went out to do said chores and errands.

  • Pet store to get more turkey sludge.
  • Fashion Bug to exchange pants for a different color (from grey to black)
  • Walmart to buy a crockpot. Walmart had bupkis.
  • Target for a crockpot. Found a steel 5-qt Crockpot.
  • Grocery store. Bought fixings for beef stew and roast chicken.

After all that excitement, I went home, washed my dishes, borrowed my neighbor’s lighter to relight a pilot light in my stove, and the went online to goof off until bedtime.

Sunday, day after the day after Christmas
Woke up late, and started my beef stew. Threw everything (beef, garlic, onion, carrot, celery, potato, parsley, bay, tarragon, stock, cranberry juice, salt & pepper) into my brand new crockpot. Watched a couple movies on tv.: “Agent Cody Banks” (horrible movie, and I hated what they did to Angie Harmon’s character–costuming department, leather outfits, seriously?), part of “Knocked Up” (not too fond of this either: leaving aside the questionable premise, the “funny” really wasn’t. I liked the dude’s character in “Zack and Miri”, but in this one, he came off as an annoying schlub), and then some t.v. movie/show with Noah Wyle as “The Librarian”. It was okay. Then I took my bath, and spent an hour or so catching up with an old friend online.

7 thoughts on “Copycat Week: Weekend Recap

  1. That sounds like a pretty awesome weekend, actually. Very restful. You and I have a lot in common … A Christmas Story is the only Christmas movie I like, too. And prime rib for dinner? ‘Nuff said there. Sleeping? Oh, yeah. (J/K).

    I’m glad you had a relaxing holiday weekend and I envy your Crock Pot. 🙂 Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

  2. Santa says you’re welcome.

    Sorry I was a zombie. I’m feeling much better now, though. Also, you forgot that someone had a birthday this year and is no longer 7.

    What a great post! Thanks to WIGSF!

  3. yes… the toilet seat issue burns me also… militantly so. Yet my wife, being the strong-willed woman she is MAKES me put down not only the seat but the LID also.

    I grumbled about it routinely, until one day I accidently dropped the dental floss into the open toilet. Oops. I quickly rinsed off the packet of floss, but was forever changed by the experience. Now I feel as though I have succumbed to the force of women everywhere… I try to tell myself there is a “practical” reason for keeping both the seat and the lid down, but I still suffer the underlying fear that my will has now been broken. [sigh]

Leave a Reply

