Coping with Cars and Art and Work.

Okay, here’s the deal with my car:

For the past couple months, I’ve been experiencing a no-start issue, which manifested only on cold mornings. What would happen is that upon turning the key in the ignition, everything would power up; the lights, air, dashboard controls, wipers, everything, but the engine itself would simply…not. No cranking, no turning over, only complete silence. But then, it would start up again 10 to 15 minutes later. At first, I thought it was an old battery, but when I had it tested at Sears and again at Pep Boys, the battery was perfectly fine. So I knew it was an electric problem of some sort.

I finally did some research online, and it turns out that this is a common problem with certain GM vehicles equipped with the Passlock(TM) antitheft device. From what I can understand, what’s happening is that some gel or oil inside the ignition begins to degrade in cold weather with age. This degradation causes the ignition switch to perform less-than-optimally, and creates a “bounce” signal that the Passlock(TM) device interprets as a hotwire job, and it immediately shuts off the ignition sequence.

In other words, its a fucked up design. And what REALLY pisses me off is that GM won’t recall it because its “not a safety issue.” They won’t even pay for the fix–which is replacing the ignition switch, and if that fails, then the Body Control Module–because they apparently aren’t legally required to do so, even though half the vehicles equipped with this device have this problem eventually.

Cost for the fix: $300.00 to start, more if the BCM needs replacing.

GM has got a fucking racket with this shit. Imagine it: half of the vehicles with the passlock POS will fail and need replacing, to the tune of $300 or more EACH. Of course the honchos at GM aren’t going to recall this crap–its making them millions of dollars in what basically amounts to EXTORTION.

In any case, I’m getting my POS car fixed tomorrow night. Yay me.

And I’m never going to be buying a GM vehicle again. Ever. As much as I would like to support the American economy with my American dollars, if I don’t have a car I can rely on–if I don’t have a company I can trust–then I’ve wasted my money. My best bet is to buy a Honda next time.

Is it any wonder why GM went bankrupt, if this is the kind of shenanigans they pull on their customers? Shame on you, GM!

In other news, I am working on my creative-think mindset. I’ve gotten back into working on my old Nano book, from Novemeber 2008, working on characterization. The reason why it stalled all those months ago is because I knew absolutely bupkis about my main character. How can I write a story about some lady if I don’t even know her motivations, right?

I am also working on painting a self-portrait to incorporate the phrase Ars requiret totum hominem. I’m painting it as a reminder to myself that no matter how difficult it sometimes is to remain motivated, art and writing is still something I want and need to do, and in order to do it, I need to put all of myself into doing it.

I gotta get back to work now. Oh and get this, the bosses are cracking down on internet and cell usage now. Even though no one is slacking off and letting work pile up, they’ve decided that we can’t have our shit anymore.

I don’t see the point really. The work is getting done, its getting done right and on time. What does it matter if people sometimes fill in the empty times (and they DO happen) with a little internet filler?

If I were a boss, I’d let people have a life too.

9 thoughts on “Coping with Cars and Art and Work.

  1. Sorry to hear about your car. You have convinced me to stay away from GM.

    Speaking about writing, I use to talk about being a writer when I grow up and I just stopped writing. I saw this person on the weekend that I just met, they had written something. It got me thinking about writing again and how I think I should at least try to write something. It would be a fun exercise.

  2. Either someone in management read an article about facebook/twitter/lolcats OR someone in management realized how much time THEY spent on facebook/twitter/lolcats and decided to be proactive and stop the minions from wasting as much time as they do.

    I’m driving an ’86 Toyota Celica, it has 276,000 miles on it and still zips up to interstate speeds as fast as ever it did. I bought my son a ’92 Olds Cutlass with 70,000 miles and 5000 miles later the engine blew. lesson learned. I’ve driven a succession of Volvos and they all made 250,000 or better before succumbing.

  3. Bummer about your internetz but then bosses are like that and if you wanna keep your job you gotta humor them. . .and never, never never forget: Doncha never ever buy a Chrysler/Dodge. . .

  4. I loved the Toyota I had in the 1990s in Germany and the Nissan Sentra we’ve had since 1995 has been very reliable. I haven’t had huge successes with vehicles this decade…but also nothing as frustrating as you are experiencing.

    As far as the internetz…I just found a job where I don’t really have bosses and that no one really knows what i am doing and when i am doing it…they just see results and not get hung up on the process.

    Sorry. 😦

Leave a Reply

