I Need a Drink Tuesday

So yesterday, I got back my blood work and food sensitivities results.  The verdict: Vitamin D deficiency and borderline hypothyroidism (which is why birth control so effs me up); and a definite intolerance of caffeine, chocolate, and gluten, and somewhat less intolerances to: high fructose corn syrup; pork, ham and bacon; peanut; pistaschio; and corn.

I can deal with never having caffeine, bread, beer and all that other stuff…but why CHOCOLATE?

GOD, WHY?!

And why doesn’t anyone make caffeine-free chocolate? WHHHHHHYYYYYYY?!

 

Zombie

* 1 oz Light rum
* 1/2 oz Creme de Almond
* 1 1/2 oz Sweet and sour
* 1/2 oz Triple sec
* 1 1/2 oz Orange juice
* 1/2 oz 151 proof rum
Mixing instructions:

Shake all ingredients (except 151 proof rum) with ice and strain into a collins glass over ice cubes. Float the 151 proof rum on top, add a cherry (if desired), and serve.

15 thoughts on “I Need a Drink Tuesday

  1. I don’t eat chocolate. It’s not as hard as you think. Then again, I’m perpetually grumpy and completely unlovable… but chocolate is very bad for me.

  2. So… what CAN you eat? No bacon? No chocolate? No pre-packaged foods (b/c they all have HFCS)? I guess the bright side is you’ll feel better armed with the information.

  3. I’m sorry about this, Rachel. But at least you know. I have NO idea how you avoid all those things, but it’s better to know than live in ignorance, right?

    … chocolate. Heartbreaking.

  4. Well, I’m always here to help you along, my friend. And remember what I told you, it’s not that you CAN’T have it; it’s that you SHOULDN’T have alot of it on a regular basis. I’m gonna be keeping a close eye on you. I want you healthy!

  5. in your position i’d be more heartbroken about the bread. wheat and i are so close, i may end up leaving brendan to run away with it.

    still…the gluten-free world has gotten HUGE so that’s nice. and i’m sure someone somewhere makes caffeine free choco. if they can do it with tea, they can do it with everything!

Leave a Reply

