Show and Tell

**post edited to add licensing codes from creativecommons,org**

I wanted to share with you some of my jewelry stuff. Those of you who have been reading my blog for a while know that I have some background in the jewelry arts, from my time in the BFA program at University. So far, life has gotten in the way of me becoming a jeweler, but I still manage to play designer on a fairly semi-regular basis.

I have been doodling in my sketchbooks and playing with my colored pretties all week, so here are a select few of my best stones and some of my best sketchbook pages. Like most artists, I harbor a paranoia of idea thieves, so some of my best designs are remaining super secret. I must admit, I am hoping some NYC fancypants honcho stumbles upon this page and demands my presence forthwith. That would be awesome. Its highly unlikely, but hey! A girl can dream.

So here’s my show and tell:

amethyst I got this ameythst from an acquaintance, who got it from someone else learning lapidary. See that corner over there? It was a mistake in the cutting of this stone and too much got lopped off. My friend passed it on to me, in the hopes I could come up with a suitable design for it.

I think it is pretty, imperfections and all. Its pretty big, about 12 mm long.

I’m still working on the design.

 

sapphireandiolite The big one is a sapphire, about 10mm. It has a mate, which is already set into a ring I made, which was my first attempt at a claw setting. I intend this to be set into a pendant.

The smaller one is an iolite, about 6mm. Not sure what to do with it yet.

 

 

 

topaz This is a glorious Topaz. 8mm.

No clue what to do with it yet. Probably a ring.

 

 

 

goldveinedquartz A change of pace: cabochons (smooth, round-faced opaque stones)

This one is a quartz with gold vein in it. I intend to set this into a ring.

 

 

 

 

starcabs These are fancy stones. Star Corundums. The pink one is a star ruby, and the blue is a sapphire. I tried and tried to get a shot to show the stars, but I’m not that good a photographer. These are 6mm stones.

 

 

Now the sketches from my sketchbooks. First, please excuse a note to indulge in my territorial paranoia.

***THESE DESIGNS ARE COPYRIGHTED TO ME 2006-2009 DO NOT COPY OR DUPLICATE OR MANUFACTURE WITHOUT PERMISSON***

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.

 

mandaladesign

 

grapedesign

 

geometrics geometrics2

The last two pages are design ideas for possible use with the amethyst shown above.

And thats all I’m showing and telling tonight, folks. I got four books full of sketches and a whole box full of gems and cabs of all sizes, shapes, and colors. And to the mystery jewelry designer honcho I’m SURE is looking at this page right now, CALL ME!

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.

17 thoughts on “Show and Tell

    1. drawing shapes for jewelry ideas is quite a far cry from drawing things like animals, or say, HUMANS. Besides, a lot of art is digital now, and it is a skill that is increasingly in demand.

    1. The funny thing about that piece is that I was actually thinking of stream pebbles, but it actually DOES look more like a bunch of grapes. The stones I have planned for it though are all in various shades of aquamarine.

  1. I’m with Sherri — the second page looks very much like a bunch of fruit on the vine, whether grapes or whatever. But you’re right too — I can see a pebbly stream in it as well. I love some of the more organic designs which resemble objects of nature. You have a real knack for capturing them! Job well done!

  2. Beautiful stones, and I also like your design drawins. I have a ring with a star sapphire that I really love, and a set of drop earring with beautiful blue aquamarine stones that my grandmother had made.

Leave a Reply

