In search of more rounded-ness.

I got to thinking over the weekend of things I’d like to learn to do, preferably sooner rather than later.

1. Dance. I really suck at dancing. I’m okay when I’m sitting in a chair; I can bob and weave with the best of them, given a little guidance, but I have no freaking clue what to do with my feet. Being asked to do things with my feet makes me feel very self-conscious, and that first step to the front or side feels utterly ridiculous. I don’t really like that feeling, and I avoid dancing in public. The cruel irony is, I do like to dance. I like to move my body, even if I can’t really hear the music. I would love to learn how to use my feet. I am particulary interested in Latin forms (tango, salsa, rumba, etc), Bellydancing, Pole dancing, or plain old club dance.

2. Yoga. A LONG time ago, when I was a child and a teenager, I was pretty stretchy and flexible. I lost a lot of that flexibility while in college and working after graduation. It could be due to age, weight gain, and inactivity. Whatever, I would like to get that flexibility back, and yoga seems a good way to maximize that potential. Besides, yoga is a meditative act as well, and learning to manage stress in addition to limbering my body sounds like a good idea.

3. Sailing. I had my first and as yet only taste of sailing last May and there was something about it that thrilled me, even though I did nothing but cling to the side and feel the salty wind blowing through my hair. I would like to learn how to operate a sailboat on my own, and someday take a little skiff down to the Carribbean.

4. Design. Specifically, industry standard professional rendering of jewelry designs. I have many sketchbooks filled with designs, but I need to know how to render them realistically and professionally to present them as a portfolio to major design Houses or clients.

5. Digital art. It would be nice to expand my visual vocabulary to include Photoshop and Illustrator as art mediums. Digital art is amazing, and it is a useful skill in a creative industry that is increasingly reliant on digital mastery.

15 thoughts on “In search of more rounded-ness.

  1. in regards to flexibility: how flexible one is is largely genetic and you come from a family of not-so-flexible people. Just something to keep in mind… That said, I love yoga. I need more yoga in my life.

  2. Sounds like some goals that are within your reach. A couple of courses here and there and you can learn this stuff. Good luck with it!

  3. Wow, the similarities to my own interests here are striking. But then, others said that too.

    I can’t dance to save my soul. But it would be fun. My wife and I have talked about taking a dance class somewhere. Sounds like you’d have fun with it too. And belly dancing is so. frickin’. cool.

    Flexibility — ah, how I remember it! I was into the martial arts for a while in my younger days. I never got real flexible (not in my genes, I suspect), but I was more limber than at any other time in my life. I miss that. ‘Course, I miss my flat stomach too. And my 7% body fat physique. But hey. Just sayin’, flexible would be cool.

    And sailing! I wouldn’t get into it now for me, I’m too old and it’s a lot of physical work, not to mention money, but I’ve been hankerin’ for a sailor’s life since I was about three. (I grew up in the SF Bay Area, and always spent time around the water/coast/piers, etc.) That’d be awesome, and were I fifteen years younger and still single — and had money — I’d do it.

    Photoshop? Well, I’ve taught myself a few things, but there are some really, really great tutorials on the web which walk you through how to do things with either Corel Paint or Photoshop, step by step. Google what you want to learn with “free online tutorials” appended to it, and you’ll be surprised what you find. Digital art is wonderful, but I still love the traditional methods. The other thing I’d love to do is animation. I dream of being able to dash of mini-cartoons for my kids with either CGI or EZToon. But … alas, I’ve never done much with it. Still, I feel the desire as you do.

    Great stuff. Very interesting! 🙂 And, sorry for the TOME of a comment. Yeesh.

Leave a Reply

