Week of Blatherations: Brain Cake.

Okay so, my thoughts are jumping all over the place today. I spent a lot of time last night discussing attribution error with my sister (due to a minor kerfluffle in the political realms of the fatosphere we hang out in), and how that plus confirmation bias contribute to a lot of strained relationships and immature behaviors. All that braining has left me with little coherency or sense.

I need chocolate. I really do. Which reminds me of this comment I left on noceleryplease’s blog today, about cake. It amused me to write it, and it amuses me to repost it here:

“I like carrot cake. Chocolate cake. German chocolate cake. Angel’s food cake. Cheesecake. Molten lava cake. Cake ala mode. CAKE! Cake with candles. Cake with filling. Cake with sprinkles and ice cream and strawberries on top. Dammit I want some cake.”

Where was I? Oh yeah, rambling thoughts, over-braining. Right…okay, that sounded a litle like Vizzini from “The Princess Bride”, didn’t it? That’s my favorite movie. That little man had some of the best lines in the whole movie. My favorite is “Never go up against a Sicilian when death is on the line! Ha ha ha ha ha! Ha ha ha ha ha! Ha ha ha–” and then he dies. My favorite scene though, is at Miracle Max’s, when his wife bursts out of the back room and shouts “LIAR! LIAR!” Max retorts, “Be quiet, witch!” And she, as indignant as only an affronted wife can be says, “I’m your wife, Max! After what you just said, I’m not sure I even want to be, anyMORE!” Inigo’s grimace of confused horror always sends me into peals of laughter.

I think I’ve mentioned before how I’ve got that movie memorized.

Anyway, so my brain is jumping all over the place, from my car (problem is still undiagnosed, but its not the battery), to errors of social thinking (mentioned above), intersectionality (the poltical topic that spawned this whole thing), and my writing projects: this blog post, a post for my other site, and two pieces of fiction: one, a short story about a Djinn that gets into a bit of trouble, and the other, a novel about a monk who becomes a Necromancer who must free the souls that have been entombed in golems.

So all in all, my mind is very busy, and I’m a little cranky at people. I probably wouldn’t be so cranky if I could focus on something. I need chocolate cake.

10 thoughts on “Week of Blatherations: Brain Cake.

    1. I’ve tried, many times, but I just can’t get into it. I don’t like the author’s writing style. 😦

      For me, this is one of those rare instances where the movie is better than the book.

      1. I disagree completely. This is the one time the book was better than the movie. The whole thing about looking for the original book and going through all the trouble to track it down during a snowstorm. It’s a giant screw you to the reader. I love it.

Leave a Reply

