Weekend Miscellany

I had a busy in a good way weekend.

Friday night I went out with my good friends Kristen and Justin to the once-monthly Hartford DPHH (deaf professionals happy hour).  I played dress up, got a decent buzz, flirted with some dudes, exchanged numbers, and generally had a good time.  I got home at the wee wittle hour of 2:30.

Saturday I slept until noon and woke feeling groggy.  I decided it was time to finally take care of my bra problem. A Rack of Doom is expensive, hard to shop for, and generally wears out bras quickly. My old bras just didn’t fit any more and lost support.  My Rack of Doom was a saggy Rack of Doom. It was time to shell out the money for better bras. I was going to go to a local plus-size lingerie shop near New Haven, but they are hella expensive ($70 bucks for a plain bra!) but Kristen told me to go to Lane Bryant first, as their subsidiary shop Cacique (the Vicky’s secret of plus-sized women) now carried a wider range of sizes in sexy things.  Indeed, I scored with 2 bras for $50 bucks! My boobs and my pocketbook are both very happy.

Today is lazy Sunday.  I washed my car, bought food, had lunch, and whiled some time on the internet with Facebook and AIM.  I also have a date with my closet to play with my clothes to create a fall wardrobe, and a two foot pile of books to go through. See below.

The Book Pile

The Book Pile

From Top to Bottom

Books I own or borrowed from family:

  • Rhetorics of Fantasy by Farah Mendlesohn
  • The Alchemyst: the Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott
  • Rethinking Thin by Gina Kolata
  • Shadowbridge by Gregory Frost
  • Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
  • The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
  • Health at Every Size by Linda Bacon

From the Library:

  • Greywalker by Kat Richardson
  • Why Shit Happens: the Science of a Really Bad Day by Peter Bentley, Ph.D
  • Pieces for the Left Hand: 100 Anecdotes by J. Robert Lennon
  • Sandman Slim by Richard Kadrey
  • Reasons for and Advantages of Breathing by Lydia Peelle
  • Empire of Illusion: the End of Literacy and the Triumph of the Spectacle by Chris Hedges
  • The Girl She Used to Be by David Christofano
  • The Great Perhaps by Joe Meno
  • The Origins of the Specious: Myths and Misconceptions of the English Language by Patricia T. O’Connor.
  • The Hill of Dreams by Arthur Machen
  • Vanished by Kat Richardson

Tonight is spaghetti and meatballs, some yoga, and delousing my cat.  Unless I manage to corral one or two of my friends to play some pool later. I mean, honestly, who wants to deal with FLEAS?

10 thoughts on “Weekend Miscellany

  1. I could get excited about several of those books… And delousing the cat is always a good idea, less fun than pool, but who wants fleas running around the appartment.

  2. I’m sorry. I may be a bit slow today. Rack of Doom??? Is that some reference to your big tits. To which I write, “Boo freakin’ hoo! I’m Rachel and I have big beautiful breasts. Waaah waaah!”

  3. ‘Why Shit Happens.’ I *must* read that book.
    Oh, and I buy these little pills from my vet that, once administered (not easily) all the little fleas leap to their tiny deaths in about thirty minutes. Then I vacuum them away along with the flea powder I sprinkled on the floor just to be safe.
    Just sayin…

      1. I wish I could remember what they are called, though I’m certain your local vet would know (obviously) if you asked them. Back when I once had seven cats – oh yes, seven – it was a saving grace to have those little white pills…

Leave a Reply

