Icky Foods

I love food and I love to eat food. There’s not a lot that I don’t like. I am usually willing to eat anything at least once.

But today’s Ten on Tuesday asks that we list ten foods we dont like. I had to do some thinking, but in a nutshell (ha! theres a pun there I’m sure!) these are the foods low on my appeitizing scale. In no particular order:

1. Horseradish and wasabi. This is a taste issue. I absolutely hate the favor of horseradish. Its bitter, spicy, and well, nasty.

2. Licorice. Like horseradish, a flavor issue. Just tastes wrong. Its the anise, i think.

3. Organs such as tongues and livers and hearts. Just basic ‘ick’ factor here.

4. Breakfast sausages. Another taste issue. Too greasy, too salty, and the spices are…I dunno what they use–anise?–a faint semblance to licorice turns me off.

5. Raw nuts and trail mixes. The texture and flavor of plain nuts registers as off to me. I prefer my nuts at a minimum and tossed with foods such as salads and stirfrys.

6. Shellfish. This stuff actually tastes alright, but I just can’t get past the texture and the fact these animals are basically bugs and spiders.

7. Rare steak. I dont want my steak bleeding at me accusingly. Plus the texture is too squelchy and not chewy enough. I want to tear my meat, not slog through it.

8. Moldy cheeses such as Bleu and Gorgonzola. Just way too salty and pungent. And plus, the mold!

9. McDonald’s hash brown patties (the potato is just the binder to hold the grease together).

10. Cottage cheese. Pure visual revulsion. It looks like bleached vomit.

19 thoughts on “Icky Foods

  1. Isn’t it funny how different personal taste can be? I always tell the hubs that my steak should be just shy of mooing at me.

  2. I used to have the same issue with cottage cheese. Somehow I got over it, but I still feel the same way about sausage. Any ground meat for that matter.

  3. What you’re tasting in sausage is caraway seed. And I am NOT a fan of anise. I do, however, love me some horseradish and wasabi. 🙂

  4. What you’re tasting in sausage is caraway seed. And I am NOT a fan of anise. I do, however, love me some horseradish and wasabi. 🙂

  5. Say, would you ever consider TMI Tuesdays? If I were a bit more, um, experienced I would definitely do it on occasion.

  6. Daisy: this proves my previous post, that I cant make people laugh unless Im dead serious. Thanks visiting, hope to see you again soon!

    JASAHM: Blech! LOL.

    Ian: once again you say what I could not dare say. LOL @ anise=anus.

    Angel; WHY would you want to get over issues with cottage cheese? Blech.

    Allie; thanks for the info! I shall endeavor to avoid caraway seeds.

    Woozie: Just for you, next week will be a TMI Tuesday. 🙂

  7. 1. Sweet potatoes (bad experience with the mixture of them, marshmallows and walnuts)

    2. Green been casserole (similar experience as above but with a mushroom sauce)

    Both of these tast better warm than cold…but they do not taste better coming UP than going DOWN.

  8. I am with you on 1, 2, 8, 10, and halfway for 3.

    I’ll eat pretty pretty much anything, with sushi being among my favorites. I’ve also been known to dine on what we in Native State call “raw ground beef sandwiches” from time to time.

  9. Lol. I agree with everything on your list, ‘cept the mcdonalds!

    Hmmmm… mcdonalds. Yummy!

    ;o)

    But, I’d have to add sushi and wasabi to the list, however. Can’t.do.it.

    :o(

  10. I avoid foods that have, what I call, a high “glop factor”… food that is too thick to be soup but too gloppy to stand up under it’s own weight. This includes most casseroles, chili and stuff you see they ladle out to prisoners in movies. I like things I can sink my teeth into, like steak and pizza. Yum.

Leave a Reply

