Thursday Thunks

I got these questions from Thursday Thunks, a meme site which I believe I shall make a part of my weekly blogging habit.

1. Have you ever felt alone, but yet there are people around you?
Everyday. It goes with being deaf, I think. Its not always a bad thing-sometimes its a pleasant experience, being aware of my essential separateness whilst being amongst others, and sometimes its not quite so pleasant, when I want to be a part of a larger entity.

2. Do you have any video game consoles? Which ones?
We do have a Wii, but it apparently stopped working recently. The power won’t come on and we can’t figure out why. Any geeks out there with insights?

3. Do you freak out at food warnings/outbreaks, such as the recent peanut butter salmonella scare?
Not at all. I absorb the warnings and become more cautious, but I generally trust in my social institutions to serve me as I need them to. Meaning I trust the regulatory agencies to catch the bad batches, the stores to yank them off the shelves, the culprits to clean themselves up, and the hospitals to provide adequate emergency care, should I need it. Mostly I trust my body’s ability to care for itself, and my common sense in avoiding risky behavior and choices.
.
4. What color/pattern is your beds’ comforter/bedspread?
Its a light blue and white, paired with brown sheets.

5. How many windows do you have in your house?
One large one for the main room, and two smaller for the bedroom. My apartment is small.

6. Name six things that are in your bathroom.

  • A litter box.
  • A plastic storage dresser.
  • A water bowl for the cat.
  • A striped bathmat.
  • A bottle of robitussin.
  • A jar of moisturizer.

7. How big is your garage? Should it be bigger?
I live in an apartment. I don’t have a garage. I wish I did-then I could convert it into a studio.

8. Got your taxes done yet?
I got the federal taxes done, but I have yet to do my state taxes. I’m getting a nice rebate!

9. Think of a mental disorder….. why did you think of that particular one? First I thought of schizophrenia, then immediately after, bi-polar disorder. Even though they are two completely different diseases, sometimes they manifest in frightening similar ways. I know– and know OF– several people with it.

7 thoughts on “Thursday Thunks

  1. Try using a different outlet, in case it is an outlet problem. Then make sure all cables are securely connected. If that doesn’t work, consume a bottle wine and contact technical support.

  2. If after following Ms. Chica’s excellent advise you find things are status quo ante: IF you are feeling a bit adventurous AND have the correct tool for the job – check the power supply in the Wii and see if there’s a fuse that is blown.

  3. i’ve never played a Wii. i’ve also never been bipolar. for that matter, i haven’t done my taxes either.

    suddenly it’s like we’re strangers.

  4. Thanks for this. You solved my dilemma of what to post since I didn’t feel like working on one of the drafts I have hanging around my blog.

Leave a Reply

