Normalacy shall resume in 5, 4, 3, 2….

1 month.

Sometime in the next few weeks, I’ll be buying a new smartphone to replace my 5-year old SidekickII. For the most part, it has served me well: it kept me connected to the world around me–which is something that means a lot to a deaf person (it was Helen Keller who once said that she would rather be blind than deaf, for blindness merely cuts you off from your surroundings, whereas deafness cuts you off from people, and in many ways, that is a worse thing). Despite that, this SidekickII is outdated and worn. The SIM card has little memory left, and the phone sometimes crashes. AIM is slow at times, and the internet browser no longer does what I need it to do–namely load blogs and let me comment. All I can do is post and read a few simple blogs. The most frustrating thing is that I can’t do any blogging business from my home computer. Once I am home, I’ve got far too many other things to do, and sometimes I’m lucky to even get ON the computer at all!
On this phone, half the blogs I visit can’t even load properly (sometimes text is cut) and I cannot comment on any blogger blogs.

Plus, my company is T-mobile, and the network is patchy around here. It drops my connection more times than I would like (something like 2 or 3 times an hour!).

So, I’m buying a new phone, from a new company. In a few weeks, I shall be a proud owner of a new Blackberry Curve from SprintRelay.

Then I should be able to resume my accustomed blogging habits–regular posting, regular commenting, and regular replying to comments. I can’t wait!

10 thoughts on “Normalacy shall resume in 5, 4, 3, 2….

  1. I had to go google that. I think I’d like a phone with a real keypad someday. Glad you will be back to connectedness soon!

  2. Conversations about cell phones are the only thing I disdain more than those centered around airlines.

    But in your case, it’s pretty important–as you say. I love my Blackjack from work and I’m thinking of replacing my Razor w/ an iPhone. I don’t know how to spell it. not kewl.

  3. I don’t like carrying a phone, but it has prevented family from having my paged in the grocery store on a regular basis. Enjoy the new phone, you’ve earned it.

  4. yay for new technology!

    (haha… that’s not something i say very often. me and technology are not close friends)

    but i hope the phone makes life a little easier 🙂

  5. Kara,
    i would LOVE to have an iphone, but they require the purchase of a voice plan. I sure as hell am not gonna waste my money on THAT!

    and someone tell me what the fuck this phrase “drink the koolaid” means?

Leave a Reply

