30

Two weeks ago I turned 30.

A older co-worker joked, “Over the hill now, eh?” I retorted, “If I’m over the hill, you must be UNDER the hill!”

My wit improves with age.

I got two wonderful gifts from two people I love dearly: from my sis, an ammonite fossil about the size of the palm of my hand. It has great texture, and I love to rub it while thinking. She intended it to be a sort of meditation stone and a muse, and amazingly, I think its working. If I go to bed with it, I dream.

From Brian, I got a totally awesome and nifty and eminently useful GPS navigation system! its already gotten me places I’ve never been before. Thanks tomtom, and I love my boyfriend bunches and bunches.

Some age progression fun:

before you ask, the respective ages of those pics are: 3, 4, 5, 7, 14, 19 (yeah I know, big gap, but I don’t have any pics of the intervening years), 22, 25, and the last was taken 3 weeks ago.

12 thoughts on “30

  1. Your wit isn’t the only thing that’s improved with age. You look great. And for the record, I’d have been falling all over myself to date you if I’d been in junior high/senior high with you.

    Now I’m happy just to chat politics and writing and stuff with ya! 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday. some people freak at the decade birthdays, seeing them as major milestones and also as proof that they are dying!

    I hope you aren’t, you are still a young’un with most of your life ahead of you.

  3. Love the photos! You are gorgeous at 30. My 30th was my last birthday without kids. (Nearly – I was 8 months pregnant on my 31st).

    And having just had a birthday myself, I can say that I’m 16 years past that and still feeling nowhere close to over the hill.

  4. Happy belated birthday! How did you feel about turning 30? I remember a lady I once knew was really depressed about turning 30. I thought that was outrageous. 30 is young! I hope I’m really happy with myself and my life at 30 (well, and at any age). Who did you think you’d be at 20 and has that changed?

  5. happy belated birthday! i’m so sorry i’m so belated 😦

    but i hope it was fantastic! and i love the pictures.

    i hope you know you’re beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

