The Bucket List

My friend Rockstar (yes, that really is her nickname! Even though she is not technically a rockstar, she is one to everyone who knows her) just turned 40. Hoo-rah. We went to dinner to celebrate last week, and over a platter of ginormous greasy cheeseburgers and fries, we started discussing our Bucket Lists: the things we wish to do before we die.

Among the things Rockstar listed (white water rafting, beating up her soon-to-be-former Brother-in-Law), at number one was this:

Swimming with the Sharks in South Africa.

The woman is deathly afraid of spiders and bears (even the little babies!), and she wants to swim with sharks. “I’ve always loved sharks! They are so cool!”

“You flee screaming at the sight of a cute little fuzzy baby bear, and yet will cuddle with a mindless predatory fish?”

“Where there’s a baby bear, there’s a Mama Bear!” She shudders.

“You’re insane.”

She retorts by asking me about my bucket list. I confess I had never really thought much about it. Its not that I don’t think about my impending mortality (I do), or that death is inconsequential (it is), but rather that I don’t feel a need to fill my life with activity and excitement. For the most part, I am a boring person with a boring life, and for some reason, I’m content to be that way.

Having said that, there are a few things I do wish to accomplish in my life, some experiences I do wish to experience. None are remarkable or exciting, save this one thing, which is what I ultimately shared with Rockstar.

“I’d like to go hang-gliding someday.”

Her eyebrows lift.

“Yeah. I’ve always wondered what it would be like to fly. To just strap on some wings, hop off a mountian, and let the wind carry me down.”

17 thoughts on “The Bucket List

  1. my list is constantly evolving. the only thing that never moves is “have one-night-stand with johnny depp”…but it might has he gets older and saggier.

    sharks are the one thing i fear most. i get mocked for it all the time. tell your friend from me that she’s FUCKING OFF HER NUT. and i hope she enjoys getting eaten.

    woah. don’t know where that came from.

  2. Or seek out your local university wind tunnel and let it blow your face off–same effect.
    LMFAO ( just learned this one from a british blogger who calls it “blobbing” and calls us “blobs”!)

    Your previous rant on fashion is right on and has been for many years. But the rich have to spend their money somehow. Maybe $1500 handbags and $500 shoes are their bucket wishes.

    The only thing I would like to do before I die is live and be surprised each day.

  3. If I could choose a superpower, I think it would be to fly. Or to get people to do whatever I wanted. Upon telling the latter to an acquaintance, she said, “What? You already have that power–you’re a woman!”

  4. If I could choose a superpower, I think it would be to fly. Or to get people to do whatever I wanted. Upon telling the latter to an acquaintance, she said, “What? You already have that power–you’re a woman!”

  5. I’d rather parachute than hangglide. Walking the Incan trail to Machu Pichu is #1 on my list of things to do before I die.

  6. I so get her. I love sharks, they’re beautiful, they’re perfectly adapted to their environment and they’ve been around for millions of years – which is a damn sight better than us, though we are doing our damnedest to wipe them off the face of the planet. Maybe the two of us can go shark diving together.

  7. I want to swim with some dolphins before I die. And kiss one. But I’d leave the sharks alone.

  8. I want to swim with some dolphins before I die. And kiss one. But I’d leave the sharks alone.

  9. that was on my list till i got vertigo. it’s still on the list, really… but i don’t know if it would be wise or fun since the idea of falling grips me in terror and makes me want to vomit.

    i hope you get to go one day 🙂

  10. I am SO not doing hang gliding *or* the sharks. lol

    I’d love to swim with the dolphins though.

Leave a Reply

