Spring Cleaning

True Spring has arrived at last. This past weekend was warm and sunny, with gentle breezes. In the space of a day, the lawns turned green, the trees opened their budding leaves and flowers, and dead squirrels lined the roadsides. This is the time when winter’s cares are swept away to make room for new life and new living (though I’m sure the squirrels might view it differently). These past couple weeks have seen Brian and I engage in that yearly ritual of Spring Cleaning. Not just the act of cleaning our physical environments, but ourselves and our minds.

  • We emptied out the equivalent of 4.5 loads of laundry from the back of Brian’s closet. The Goodwill Donation center was already filled from top to bottom, floor to ceiling, with unwanted castoffs. Our charity barely made it to the top of the pile.

  • I cleaned out 18 months worth of dust, dander, and other fine particulates from my vacuum’s two HEPA filters. There was so much dust, about a quarter inch thick (or half a centimeter to you metric people). No wonder it wasn’t working properly. I spent 30 minutes trying to clean it all out, and a cloud of brown mist hung around my head like a veil. Good thing I’m not allergic to the stuff. Now, the thing works almost as if brand new.

  • Brian emptied out the trunk of his car. I have no idea what the hell was in it, but he brought home books, gym clothes, and ten thousand accumulated umbrellas. I assume that the vast majority of the items in his truck went into the dumpster, because he’s got a pretty big trunk.

  • I cut off all the layers in my hair. What was once a long, ragged, dried-up, choppy do, is now a trimmed shoulder-length bob with a light fringe. No remnants of my old blonde highlights remain. My hair is now back to its normal golden red.

  • We went hiking, at long last. We had, neither of us, engaged in any physical activity since Thanksgiving. As such we gained weight. I gained 8 pounds, due to my love of chocolate and Pepsi.—-I have mixed feelings about hiking. Its hard work, and I am very much a lazy ass. My legs are fat and weak from lack of muscle tone. But I love being outside, being surrounded by trees and birds, and looking at the desciated leaves littering the forest floor, the green and grey mosses blanketing the thick trunks of the trees, and the myriad of small wildlife we encounter. Newts, moths, squirrels, chimpmunks, woodpeckers, wild turkeys, and snakes. But the bugs are annoying, I hate the smell of deet over sunscreen, and the chemical-laden sweat running into my eyes. Reaching the summit is a releif, and the descent is a rush of happiness that the torture is over, and I have accomplished something worthwhile for my body and my mind.

  • I’m dreaming again. Or more accurately, I’m dreaming enough so I remember that I am dreaming. I stopped dreaming when I stopped writing, and now that I am writing once more, the dreams are returning. I missed dreaming–so much of our creative selves are tied up into our dreams–and for me, at least half my creative ideas for both writing and art come from my dreams. And it seems that I cannot dream unless I am writing. I have taken this as proof that whether or not I ever become a writer or an artist, I can never stop writing, or dreaming, and I must never stop nurturing that ability to dream.—-Speaking of dreams (this one’s for you Franki!) last night I dreamt that Tom Cruise and Kate Holmes were having maritial problems, and that little Suri Cruise was the most brilliant toddler in the world, already forming complete sentences and enunciating her words with the skill of an adult. Tom Cruise needs to hold hands. “Its the only way I know I am real.” He told me. Unfortunately, I woke up before I could find out if my intervention saved their marriage.

  • I have come to the realization that I am addicted to chocolate. Addicted in the sense that I have intense physical need for chocolate at regular intervals every day (at my lowest, I have consumed 4 or 5 candy bars a day). I have also realized that this came to be because I have allowed myself to think of my cravings as needs, and that only chocolate will allievate my physical and emotional lows. So a habit has developed, and I am having a hard time letting myself love chocolate without binging on it, or condemning myself for allowing myself to have even that “extra bite”.

I don’t know how to end this post–this list is getting long and I have work to do, so I’m ending it here. I am still working on my monkey, and will finish my quota by the end of the month. I’ve been a bad blogging buddy, since I haven’t been commenting on your blogs. I will make up for that as soon as I have the time again.

13 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning

  1. You must not have a very dusty house because I can pull a couple of inches of dust and allergens out of my hepa filter in a week.

    And I’m pretty sure one of the tabloids just had that same dream about Katie and Tom. And then they made it their cover story with a large picture of Suri captioned “Who’s going to love this genius baby?”

    I swear I just saw it at Stop and Shop yesterday.

  2. You must not have a very dusty house because I can pull a couple of inches of dust and allergens out of my hepa filter in a week.

    And I’m pretty sure one of the tabloids just had that same dream about Katie and Tom. And then they made it their cover story with a large picture of Suri captioned “Who’s going to love this genius baby?”

    I swear I just saw it at Stop and Shop yesterday.

  3. i’ve been a bad blogger in general.

    but i’m afraid i’ve gotten so bad that it’s impossible to pick myself back up. i hope not…

    and great post. glad you’re writing and dreaming again 🙂 those are good things to hold on to.

  4. Nice post! Can’t wait to see your new hairdo. It will probably inspire me to hack of my droopy locks as well. hah…

  5. Goodness gracious! If Tom Cruise wanted to hold my hand, I would consider it a nightmare!

    I just got a new hairdo too. Maybe I’ll post a pic.

  6. Spring cleaning? I thought thats what we did in the old days. Crap, is this still the old days??

    Great post! I chopped off all my hair and dyed it blonde for the spring.

    As for chocolate: Mid morning, mid day and mid afternoon I eat my weight watchers whittman sampler (available at stop & shop). Its enough to get me through to the next and only 1 point.

  7. Wow! Hell of a list. I’ve been doing most of my spring cleaning oudoors – chopping, weeding, replanting, mowing.

    Chocolate is good. It is a gift from the heavens. I eat chocoalte every day, often many times a day. Because it’s the right thing to do.

  8. look at you with your bullet points. your organizational skills disgust me. that’s the form my envy takes.

    hiking is effed up. i try it every once in a while and each time i come to that conclusion. it usually settles in after muttering “nature blows” a couple of times an hour.

  9. Spring cleaning eh? If spring ever gets to my house, I might could do a little of that myself but then again, I might not. Just wondering where on earth you found “real” mountains to hike? Next time you visit I’ll show you the trail to Kinport peak, now that’s a hike! Remember hiking to the peak of Mt. Olympus? I got pictures. . . .

  10. ‘Tom Cruise needs to hold hands. “Its the only way I know I am real.”‘ Good god, the man’s lost himself entirely! ; ) Seriously, that is hilarious.

    And what a coincidence that I was just reading an art magazine of top up and coming American painters, and one painter had only included in his selection paintings of Tom Cruise in the 80’s, back when he hadn’t “completely lost himself in his commercialized public persona.” He was mostly pictured with his face up close in meditative stances. It was freaking odd.

    Your blog is very entertaining!

  11. ‘Tom Cruise needs to hold hands. “Its the only way I know I am real.”‘ Good god, the man’s lost himself entirely! ; ) Seriously, that is hilarious.

    And what a coincidence that I was just reading an art magazine of top up and coming American painters, and one painter had only included in his selection paintings of Tom Cruise in the 80’s, back when he hadn’t “completely lost himself in his commercialized public persona.” He was mostly pictured with his face up close in meditative stances. It was freaking odd.

    Your blog is very entertaining!

Leave a Reply

