Religion Selector

I came across this link while doing some teading about Taoism and Buddhism. Its a religion match quiz, and I got some interesting results.

1. Unitarian Universalism (100%)
2. Secular Humanism (99%)
3. Theravada Buddhism (89%)
4. Liberal Quakers (78%)
5. Neo-Pagan (78%)
6. Non-theist (77%)
7. Mahayana Buddhism (72%)
8. New Age (64%)
9. Taoism (58%)
10. Mainline – Liberal Christian Protestants (56%)
11. Hinduism (43%)
12. Jainism (40%)
13. Orthodox Quaker (39%)
14. New Thought (31%)
15. Sikhism (31%)
16. Christian Science (Church of Christ, Scientist) (29%)
17. Bahai (27%)
18. Reform Judaism (27%)
19. Scientology (27%)
20. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons) (19%)
21. Seventh Day Adventist (17%)
22. Mainline – Conservative Christian Protestant (16%)
23. Eastern Orthodox (15%)
24. Islam (15%)
25. Jehovah’s Witness (15%)
26. Orthodox Judaism (15%)
27. Roman Catholic (15%)

I’m suprised I scored higher as a Buddhist than as a Taoist, because I disagree with some of the core philosophical principles of Buddhism, whereas I identify much closer to the philosophical world-view of the Taoist. However mainstream Chinese Taoism does have a pantheon of gods, and Buddhism is mostly atheistic, so perhaps that is the reason for that ranking.

Anyhow, I found it a fun and informative test, and it has led me to new frontiers of exploration, so that is always a good thing! Here’s a good starting point for any religious exploration: religioustolerance.org

If you take this quiz, please feel free to share your results if you’d like!

26 thoughts on “Religion Selector

  1. damn – my results were REALLY close to yours. (I didn’t write mine down, from what I remember they were practically identical) hmmmmmm.

  2. “Hi, we’re the Unitarians. Would you please come and hang out with us? We take absolutely anyone. Really, we’re not that bad.”

    My top 3 were Unitarian (100%), Neo-Pagan (90%), and Liberal Quakers (89%). I’ve actually been curious about Quakers since one of my other bloggies is one. Not that I feel I really need the complication of a church in my life. LOL

    Neat quiz, Rachel.

    Ian

  3. “Hi, we’re the Unitarians. Would you please come and hang out with us? We take absolutely anyone. Really, we’re not that bad.”

    My top 3 were Unitarian (100%), Neo-Pagan (90%), and Liberal Quakers (89%). I’ve actually been curious about Quakers since one of my other bloggies is one. Not that I feel I really need the complication of a church in my life. LOL

    Neat quiz, Rachel.

    Ian

  4. As an atheist, I obviously got 100% on secular humanism…

    But what surprised me were the other results. I guess with or without a god, most people have pretty much the same belief systems.

  5. The last time I took this, I got a 100% rating for Liberal Quaker (which is fortunate, since i am one), and also very high scores on Buddhist and Unitarian.

  6. mine aren’t shocking at all:

    1. Conservative Christian Protestant (100%)
    2. Orthodox Quaker (97%)
    3. Liberal Christian Protestants (91%)
    4. Eastern Orthodox (86%)
    5. Roman Catholic (86%)
    6. Seventh Day Adventist (79%)
    7. Mormons (60%)
    8. Liberal Quakers (59%)
    9. Islam (58%)
    10. Orthodox Judaism (58%)
    11. Unitarian Universalism (52%)
    12. Bahai (51%)
    13. Jehovah’s Witness (45%)
    14. Reform Judaism (44%)
    15. Hinduism (42%)
    16. Sikhism (40%)
    17. Jainism (33%)
    18. Christian Science (32%)
    19. Mahayana Buddhism (29%)
    20. Neo-Pagan (28%)
    21. Theravada Buddhism (28%)
    22. New Age (27%)
    23. Secular Humanism (24%)
    24. New Thought (23%)
    25. Scientology (23%)
    26. Non-theist (20%)
    27. Taoism (20%)

    the thing i find interesting, is that this quiz says i can be partial X-number of religions, when clearly, my belief system would only allow me to match up with the first five. but it was an interesting quiz nonetheless 🙂

  7. Hi Rachel, This is Dad..

    Here are MY Test Results:

    1. Neo-Pagan (100%)
    2. New Age (88%)
    3. Unitarian Universalism (87%)
    4. Mahayana Buddhism (85%)
    5. Liberal Quakers (83%)
    6. Taoism (77%)
    7. Theravada Buddhism (77%)
    8. Secular Humanism (73%)
    9. Hinduism (72%)
    10. Sikhism (70%)
    11. Orthodox Quaker (64%)
    12. Mainline – Liberal Christian Protestants (64%)
    13. Bahai (62%)
    14. Jainism (61%)
    15. Scientology (59%)
    16. Reform Judaism (57%)
    17. New Thought (55%)
    18. Christian Science (Church of Christ, Scientist) (54%)
    19. Non-theist (41%)
    20. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons) (36%)
    21. Seventh Day Adventist (32%)
    22. Mainline – Conservative Christian Protestant (28%)
    23. Orthodox Judaism (26%)
    24. Eastern Orthodox (24%)
    25. Islam (24%)
    26. Roman Catholic (24%)
    27. Jehovah’s Witness (9%)

    Right where it should be…

    Love you 😉

  8. No Pastafarianism?

    From ReligiousTolerance.org?

    I cannot take a test from a website that so totally disrespects my religion and my Saucy God, the FSM.

  9. AND they included Scientology?!?

    My FSM, His Sauciness will not stand for this disrespect! His Noodly Appendage can be a tool of love and a tool of destruction!

  10. Your test indicates I’m a secular humanist but really, I’m an Episcopalian. Honest. Good isn’t it, that the episcopal church interferes with neither my religion or my politics!?!

    1. Secular Humanism (100%)
    2. Unitarian Universalism
    3. Non-theist (90%)
    4. Liberal Quakers (84%)
    5. Neo-Pagan (80%)
    6. New Age (77%)
    7. Taoism (71%)
    8. Mainline – Liberal Christian Protestants (69%)
    9. Scientology (64%)
    10. Christian Science (Church of Scientist).
    11. New Thought (61%)
    12. Theravada Buddhism (59%)
    13. Mahayana Buddhism (47%)
    14. Reform Judaism (47%)
    15. Bahai (41%)
    16. Orthodox Quaker (41%)
    17. Islam (37%)
    18. Jainism (37%)
    19. Orthodox Judaism (37%)
    20. Mainline – Conservative Christian Protestant (30%)
    21. Seventh Day Adventist (18%)
    22. Sikhism (18%)
    23. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons) (12%)
    24. Hinduism (12%)
    25. Eastern Orthodox (7%)
    26. Roman Catholic (7%)
    27. Jehovah’s Witness (0%)

  11. Ian: Lol, I love the come join us speech. I might have to use that if I ever start up my own church. (Ha!)

    Puss; I love British slang! “Beardy-weirdy”: this is great. I really need to use this in conversation soon. 🙂

    Jazz; its interesting to see where religions differ and where they are similar, and how, regardless of those differences, they are all more similar than dissimilar, and how much we, as religious or non-religious people we may be, are still similar regardless of those differences.

    slip; yeah, that’s how I felt too. I had never heard of Unitarian-Universalism either, until this quiz. They seem interesting. http://www.uua.org

    citizen: I need to learn more about Quakers. The only thing I know about them is that one song “Tis the gift to be simple.”

    Martha: you have an interesting point. your beleifs seem to require defined boundaries, which is typical of traditional western religions. the more non-traditional paths are amenable to the ‘buffet-style” faiths. Well, there’s no one right way that applies to EVERYone (though some orthodox people would disagree with that…)

    dad; I’m glad you took the test! Its cool to see how you ranked. I can sorta see how my beleifs are influenced by both you and mom (Em). Thanks for visiting my blog, and I hope you come more often and leave more comments. 🙂 Love you!

    woozie: I’m sure religioustolerance.org is currently working on correcting those oversights. Very grevious oversights, indeed! I bet the FSM is even now punishing them for their sin.

    franki: awesome, thank you!

    em/mom: like I told dad, I think its cool how our results are so similar, how my beleifs evolved from some hybridization of you two’s. you notice how we all seem to have the same top 10, just ranked differently. I think that’s neato.

  12. My results are posted on my blog. I’m not really too surprised with mine.

    It was a fun test to take, to learn a bit about myself, to inquire and ponder on things I hadn’t pondered before.

  13. That was really interesting Rachel… I’ve learned something about myself today…

    1. Unitarian Universalism (100%)
    2. Liberal Quakers (98%)
    3. Reform Judaism (92%)
    4. Neo-Pagan (91%)
    5. New Age (91%)
    6. Mainline – Liberal Christian Protestants (84%)
    7. Bahai (79%)
    8. New Thought (76%)
    9. Mahayana Buddhism (76%)
    10. Orthodox Quaker (72%)
    11. Jainism (71%)
    12. Orthodox Judaism (70%)
    13. Scientology (69%)
    14. Sikhism (67%)
    15. Hinduism (66%)
    16. Christian Science (Church of Christ, Scientist) (65%)
    17. Islam (64%)
    18. Taoism (56%)
    19. Theravada Buddhism (56%)
    20. Secular Humanism (55%)
    21. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons) (38%)
    22. Mainline – Conservative Christian Protestant (36%)
    23. Non-theist (32%)
    24. Seventh Day Adventist (29%)
    25. Jehovah’s Witness (25%)
    26. Eastern Orthodox (23%)
    27. Roman Catholic (23%)

  14. That was really interesting Rachel… I’ve learned something about myself today…

    1. Unitarian Universalism (100%)
    2. Liberal Quakers (98%)
    3. Reform Judaism (92%)
    4. Neo-Pagan (91%)
    5. New Age (91%)
    6. Mainline – Liberal Christian Protestants (84%)
    7. Bahai (79%)
    8. New Thought (76%)
    9. Mahayana Buddhism (76%)
    10. Orthodox Quaker (72%)
    11. Jainism (71%)
    12. Orthodox Judaism (70%)
    13. Scientology (69%)
    14. Sikhism (67%)
    15. Hinduism (66%)
    16. Christian Science (Church of Christ, Scientist) (65%)
    17. Islam (64%)
    18. Taoism (56%)
    19. Theravada Buddhism (56%)
    20. Secular Humanism (55%)
    21. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons) (38%)
    22. Mainline – Conservative Christian Protestant (36%)
    23. Non-theist (32%)
    24. Seventh Day Adventist (29%)
    25. Jehovah’s Witness (25%)
    26. Eastern Orthodox (23%)
    27. Roman Catholic (23%)

  15. That’s a Shaker song! Different religion entirely! ALthough it is a lovely song. Quakers are the silent service, no minister, social justice and pacifism folks.

  16. Graffitti: OMG, I’m so sorry I skipped you, I didn’t realize! Anyway, I got rid of my picture because I was sick of my face. LOL.

    Sophia: Thanks for taking the test and sharing it. I had hoped you, in particular, would enjoy it, too.

    dawn: I’m kinda suprised at your high score results for reform judasim–it seems to be the odd one out, in the midst of such wackadoodle groups such as the “beardy wierdies” and the unitarians.

    citizen: oh. well, that just proves my previous statement, that I don’t know anything about Quakers. 🙂

    angels: self-coherency is a good thing. 😉

    woozie: maybe you need to widen your windows?

  17. Hi Rachel:
    How fun!!! Thanks for posting this.

    1. Neo-Pagan (100%)
    2. Unitarian Universalism (100%)
    3. Theravada Buddhism (95%)
    4. Mahayana Buddhism (91%)
    5. New Age (91%)
    6. Liberal Quakers (89%)
    7. Secular Humanism (88%)
    8. Mainline – Liberal Christian Protestants (75%)
    9. Taoism (75%)
    10. Reform Judaism (64%)
    11. Orthodox Quaker (61%)
    12. Jainism (60%)
    13. Non-theist (58%)
    14. Bahai (55%)
    15. New Thought (53%)
    16. Sikhism (53%)
    17. Christian Science (Church of Christ, Scientist) (44%)
    18. Hinduism (44%)
    19. Scientology (44%)
    20. Orthodox Judaism (41%)
    21. Islam (32%)
    22. Mainline – Conservative Christian Protestant (31%)
    23. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons) (30%)
    24. Seventh Day Adventist (26%)
    25. Eastern Orthodox (21%)
    26. Roman Catholic (21%)
    27. Jehovah’s Witness (16%)

Leave a Reply

