A Book Meme!

I got this “123 Book Meme” from Pool .

The rules are:

  1. Pick up the nearest book of at least 123 pages.
  2. Open the book to page 123.
  3. Find the fifth sentence.
  4. Post the next three sentences.
  5. Tag 5 people and post a comment on this blog so I can come see.

I’m reading three books right now, and just finished one. I figured I’d do all four books for this meme, cuz I got nothing better to do right now. Besides, the rules say to pick up the nearest one, and all four of these books are in a pile next to my pillow. Can’t get any nearer than that!

  • First: The book I finished a couple weeks ago, “Everyday Tao” by Deng Ming-Dao (page 123 is discussing the taoist symbolism of Jade). Sentences 5 through 8 read:
    “In its possession of angularity without cutting sharpness was seen righteousness. In its ‘willingness’ to hang down in beads or fall to the ground was seen humility. In its clear, bell-like sound when struck was seen music. In the fact that neither its beauty nor its flaws could be concealed was seen loyalty.”
  • Second Book: “Living the Creative Life” by Rice Freeman-Zachary. I bought this book yesterday and so far its been a fun read. It’s full of glossy pictures and lots of advice. Skipping a bit ahead to page 123:
    “Its a given that you don’t want a site that includes photographs of your nephew at Disneyworld. Save that for another, purely personal site. you want your site to focus on your work and the relevant information about you: your bio, your resume, your background. But what about the actual design of the site?”
  • Third: “What We Ache For” by Oriah Mountian Dreamer, a book about creativity and spirituality (do you sense a theme here?).
    “Creative work is often solitary, but there can be a great sense of comaraderie and support when working in the company of others who share your committment to the process. Shared silence is a gift too rarely found in our extroverted culture. Working in a group is one of the best ways I know to ensure that regular creative work takes place in the midst of a busy life. When the words on the page seem lifeless ot the images that come do not inspire, if you are alone the inclination can be to give up and wander off to do something else.’
  • And finally, “Learn to Meditate” by David Fontana. I’m sure the title gives the book away, so I won’t bother to explain it.
    “Chanting therefore occupies an important role in the rituals and meditations of all the great traditions. Examples include plainsong (unaccompanied music sung in unison by Christian monks with the aim of producing powerful changes of consciousness) and the soaring beauty of the oratorios and requiems in sacred music, which aim to lift the soul toward God. The chanting of Buddhist monks, and the low groan of Tibetian horns, provide further examples, as does the Islamic call to prayer, and the intonements of the Jewish religion. Some languages are thought to be richer in vibrations and harmonies of sacred sound than others. This is particulary true of Sanskrit, which in the East is said
    to be the primal language, and also of Arabic and Hebrew.”

Hm.
There’s a definite theme going on here. Also, I seem to be reading very wordy authors.

I’m not tagging anyone, since I don’t really believe in tagging, but if any of you do this meme, I’d really like to know, so I can check it out!

9 thoughts on “A Book Meme!

  1. i plan to do this meme if i can remember to do it while i’m at home. unfortunately, i’ve been at work when reading both yours and pool’s post… so i don’t have any of my books within reach.

    interesting passages, to be sure 🙂

  2. Very interesting reads… I especially like the “Learn To Meditate”. I’ve read a couple of books on the subject but haven’t had much luck!

  3. Very interesting reads… I especially like the “Learn To Meditate”. I’ve read a couple of books on the subject but haven’t had much luck!

  4. Puss; perhaps so. I think it has much to do with the fact that I am artistically blocked.

    pool; if you do, I hope you enjoy them!

    martha; I cant wait to see what you’ve got!

    dawn; meditation is hard.

    woozie: perhaps someday. its on my “possible” list.

    grafitti: with the exception of “Waht we Ache for” so do all of these! I LIKE pictures.

Leave a Reply

