A Super Duper Dilemma

Well, today is "Super Duper Tuesday", and I'm still having trouble deciding who to vote for. On the one hand, we have an experienced, knowledgeable, and dedicated adminstrator cursed with her husband's baggage and her own polarizing reputation. On the other hand we have a charismatic visionary with the ability to unify progressives behind a mantle of "hope and change." But with no executive experience, his success at unification could be matched only by his potential to fail as a President.

But adminstrative skills can be learned, and the success of any President depends largely upon the people to whom responsibilites are delgated, and both candidates inspire a fierce loyalty among their staffers (yes, even Mrs. Clinton).

Both candidates are intelligent, ambitious, educated, goal-oriented lawyers with identical platforms that differ only in the details. As a simple American, I am less interested in the details and more interested in getting things done. Will the man who can make everyone his friend be more effective that the woman who can work against opposition? Can things get done when the opposing party has a strong sense of their own destiny in the symbol of Ronald Regan, while our own party lacks such a symbol of progressive vision and conviction? Do we need a flag to rally behind before charging out to fight? Could Hillary Clinton be that flag? Due to her polarizing nature, I fear not. But could her strength of will overcome that lack and prove effective despite all the attacks against her that are bound to come? Are her strengths enough to overcome her weaknesses? Can Barack Obama's strengths overcome his own lack of experience and clout? Can his idealism withstand and hold true to the onslaught of political machinations and betrayal?

I have no freaking clue. I want a candidate who can defeat a Republican. I want a candidate who can spearhead a new Democratic movement to counter the disastrous wreck the Neocons have made of our government. I want a candidate who holds the same values I hold, who has the ability to neutralize opposition, the intelligence to develop ideas that will solve problems, and the strength of character to stick to the agenda despite complications and inevitable concessions.

If only we could combine the best of both Clinton and Obama into one candidate! If only Obama had less ambition and more experience. If only Clinton could inspire unification and excitement rather than fear and loathing.

I suspect I won't know who I will vote for today until I have made my choice in the voting booth.

18 thoughts on “A Super Duper Dilemma

  1. I would concur with your analysis – America needs a mixed-race, hermaphrodite president. Where are the genetic engineers when you need them?

    Puss

  2. Thank God I’m not American. It seems you people are in election mode 75% of the time…

    What I don’t like about Clinton is that she voted for the Iraq war.

    I like Obama, but despite this being the 21st century, I’m not sure people would be willing to have a black president.

    But then again, would they be willing to have a woman as president?

    But I don’t get to vote anyway. All I ask is that you get the republicans out. Please.

  3. I don’t get to vote for a Democratic candidate in a primary. I gave up the right when I re-registered as an Independent years ago. Oh well…I didn’t want to choose between their stupid faces anyway.

    Harumph.

  4. Or you can forget that you’re not a registered Democrat, rather a register nothing, and not be able to vote for anyone.

    If you’re still unsure, go for Barack, and it’ll be a CT vote for both of us :)-.

  5. Or you can forget that you’re not a registered Democrat, rather a register nothing, and not be able to vote for anyone.

    If you’re still unsure, go for Barack, and it’ll be a CT vote for both of us :)-.

  6. As a former teacher whose students benefitted from the job-share situation, I think Obama and Mrs C should divvy it all up and co-lead.

  7. Actually, I’d love to see Obama get the nomination and then have the vision to actually pick a REPUBLICAN running mate. Imagine how THAT would look! You couldn’t have the polarizing in the House and the Senate anymore, because what are you going to do, vote WITH the President and AGAINST the Veep? Gosh, people might actually start voting what they really THINK.

    Obama/McCain ’08

    Want some of what I’m smoking? 😛

    Ian

  8. Actually, I’d love to see Obama get the nomination and then have the vision to actually pick a REPUBLICAN running mate. Imagine how THAT would look! You couldn’t have the polarizing in the House and the Senate anymore, because what are you going to do, vote WITH the President and AGAINST the Veep? Gosh, people might actually start voting what they really THINK.

    Obama/McCain ’08

    Want some of what I’m smoking? 😛

    Ian

  9. I am politic’d out. I couldn’t vote in the primary because I am “unaffiliated” and CT parties only allow registered party members to vote in Primaries. I am looking forward to who goes up in the general election though!

  10. I am politic’d out. I couldn’t vote in the primary because I am “unaffiliated” and CT parties only allow registered party members to vote in Primaries. I am looking forward to who goes up in the general election though!

  11. Puss; brilliant! Ill get started on it…

    Jazz: well we do have elections every other year, and sometimes every year.

    Franki: that’s a promising idea. I still favor Obama/Edwards, though.

    Kara. Well, you could always switch back. and Harumph to you too!

    BigMomma: you and your prophetic ways…

    andrea: I somehow doubt Mrs. Micromanagement and Mr. Ambitious would care for that idea.

    Tiv; dark and mysterious, are ya?

    Jen; at least you figured it out and voted too!

    Ian: I recalling something about George Washinton’d veep being from the opposing party…I wonder whatever happened to that?

    Pool. Same here…ill be excited to see who wins the general election..shaping up to be between McCain and Clinton.

Leave a Reply

