Random Observations

Thanks to everyone who participated in my first “Ask Me Anything” segment. I really enjoyed doing it, and I hope you enjoyed it too. I might do another such segment sometime next month. But now, its time to move on!

So, here are some random observations from the past few days:

*Driving to work early Tuesday morning, I watched the moon set, not behind the tree-crowned horizon, but behind the shadow of the Earth itself. It was a spectacular, almost creepy sight, watching the moon literally vanish into thin air.

*Green bananas really don’t taste very good.

*Just because the sky is blue and the sun is shining bright doesn’t mean its not 15 degrees outside. So bundle up if you know what’s good for you.

*Dumping 4 bags of Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate Candies into a bowl and proudly displaying the loot on the table doesn’t prevent chocaholics from binging on them. Hiding said bowl behind cereal boxes on the refrigerator does work–but not when chocaholic in question is the one that does the hiding. Can anyone say tummy ache?

*You know the State must need some revenue when, while driving a 35-minute commute, you see no less than four traffic cops ticketing drivers–when they haven’t bothered to enforce the speeds limits in a year.

*I really like the way the tap springs freeze into solid walls of ice on the rocky bluffs that line the highways in Connecticut.

*I’m really, really sick of oatmeal, but unfortunately, its the only thing I have left to eat in the mornings. My gut is extra-sensitive in the mornings, and I cannot eat dairy, eggs, meat, or citrus. The only thing I can eat in the mornings is oatmeal, dry toast, and mild fruit. I’m sick of it.

*Somehow a post about random observations mutated into a rant about my IBS. I beg my reader’s pardons!

*We seem to have mice in the kitchen at work…there are mice droppings in the silverware drawers. Mice droppings are amazingly tiny, but undeniably poop-shaped.

*I have been on break a bit too long. Time to get back to work. Damn the clock!

9 thoughts on “Random Observations

  1. Oh, you have IBS too? Yours sounds so much worse than mine. I feel for you.

    Remember where there is mouse poo, there is mouse pee. Wash any of those utensiles very very well before you use them…

  2. re: mice @ work

    ew. Did you know that mice do not have bladders? So, anywhere you see mouse droppings, there’s bound to be mouse urine you can’t see. Make sure you wash that silverware before you use it. With soap.

    re: Breakfast
    sorry. I wonder if I have anything in my diet/heath resources that might help. I’ll get back to you. 🙂

  3. re: mice @ work

    ew. Did you know that mice do not have bladders? So, anywhere you see mouse droppings, there’s bound to be mouse urine you can’t see. Make sure you wash that silverware before you use it. With soap.

    re: Breakfast
    sorry. I wonder if I have anything in my diet/heath resources that might help. I’ll get back to you. 🙂

  4. mmm… mouse turds and urine. i think i just threw up in my mouth a little.

    my favorite days are blue skies, sun shining and cold enough for a coat, a scarf and gloves.

  5. Everyone: Sorry for the mice turds! it wasn’t my intention to gross people out, but I can’t deny I’m tickled that it did. Cuz, really, it IS gross!

    Jazz; my IBS is bad only in the mornings. After a good breakfast and some tea, I can actually eat “bad” foods for my other meals. Not too much of course, but I can eat cheeseburgers, for example.

    Martha: It doesn’t actually FREEZE down there in Dallas, TX, does it? I doubt you’d be saying that if you lived in Yankeeland. Its so cold up here it HURTS. Its times like these I wish I lived down South.

  6. it freezes on occasion… but nothing like in the north. i’ll give you that. but, as you said, this is why i like the south. i was in st. louis for a wedding last weekend and it was SIX DEGREES! on the plane back to dallas they said it would be 50 degrees when we landed and everyone literally cheered.

    hahha… we southerners don’t take kindly to anything below 30.

  7. “Undeniably poop shaped.” That’s true enough. Mice are cute except when they are leaving their little poops around.

    And were you seriously thinking making the cchocoalte easily accessible going to make you less likely to eat it? This chocoholic says ha ha ha ha.

Leave a Reply

