Some useless things I’ve memorized.

*The entire first half of the movie “The Princess Bride” (excepting the scenes with Fred Savage because those parts bored me); from Buttercup was born on a small farm in the country of Florin.; to Vizzini: “Inconceivable!” Montoya: “You keep using that word. I don’t think it means what you think it means.”; After this my memory gets patchy. I can remember the rest of the movie but not in a continuous stream as I can with the first half.

*The entire prologue to The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan. Every sentence, word by word.

*90% of the original london cast recording of Les Miserables. My favorite songs are the siloquies of Javert.

*The chemical formula for hydrocarbon lipids and the cellular structure of semi-permeable lipid cell membrances.

*The first 10 steps of the stupid “Frosty the Snowman” dance my 10th grade P.E. Dance class was required to learn for the stupid dance show.

12 thoughts on “Some useless things I’ve memorized.

  1. Your memory will become more and more amusing to you with time–you will remember all those useless words from the Wheel of time and the biochemical formulas and the Frosty the Snowman dance but not where you put your keys, your next appointment or an all important PIN. I laugh at myself every time I have to look up a phone # that I should know because I can recall readily my home phone from when I was a 5 year old–totally useless information to me today but engraved in my memory forever.

  2. aww… the princess bride. love that. i have the whole “mawiage… mawiage is what bwings us togevah today…” scene memorized.

    and i love that you still remember that dance. hahahaha! whenever i make it up north to visit, you’ll have to perform it for me 😉

  3. Nice memory you have there!

    “lives of great men all remind us
    we can live a life sublime
    and departing leave behind us
    footprints on the sands of time,”

    I will always remember this from the Psalm of Life which a childhood friend of mine would always quote since he had to memorize it for school.

  4. never get involved in a land war in asia, and never go up against a sicilian when death is on the line.

    so – what are the 39 steps?

  5. Em; I’ll always remember words, but numbers? I dont have the capacity to remember numbers I’m not actively using.

    Puss; dont worry for me, my Mum worries enough as it is!

    martha; re: the dance, are you INSANE? Never! I am still working on forgetting those few steps I DO know.

    goatman; thats a nice bit of poetry. Thanks for sharing.

    franki; yup! thats the one, alright.

  6. Jazz; I’m sorry I forgot you! OMG. and to answer: are you kidding? Its not like I TRIED to memorize all that stuff! and I’m even now trying to erase that frosty dance.

    bob: I love that bit, and I love how Vizzini keels over in midlaugh. *THUD* and please don’t ask me about the steps, I’m trying to forget.

    kara: ah, spaceballs…wonderful movie.

  7. I’m impressed!

    Maybe you can share some of those memory cells with me. Mine seem to have been lost, and I never did much to burn them off.

    I sometimes have to rely on my younger sister to give me back memories of my childhood. I have some, but I don’t know where the rest went. I can remember things like a dream I had as a child, in which my sister was chewing a green grasshopper like bubble gum, but I can’t remember teaching my younger cousin how to twirl a flag in my driveway.

    I wonder why some have really good recall abilities while the rest of us just rely on pictures and other people.

    And now my husband says my short-term memory is horrible. Hehee!

Leave a Reply

