Nuts!

Dawn gave me this nifty award. I just love squirrels!


I used to hate nuts. I was a picky eater as a child. There was a time when I would eat nothing but fried eggs and Miracle Whip on Wonderbread. Then, at some point I do not remember, I started adding things to my diet, oh so slowly. Chicken nuggets, and oranges, and so on. How did my poor mother cope?

Among the foods I hated for the longest time were:
onions
fish
mushrooms
nuts
shellfish

I’ve only recently started appreciating these foods. I decided I liked fish after years of trying to like it. Mushrooms are still a bit iffy to me: I will not eat mushroom bisque, for example. I do like it on Pizza and Beef Stroganoff. But I still absolutely DETEST shellfish. No matter how much I try to like it, the flavor repulses me. Nuts, like onions and mushrooms, need to be accompanied by other foods before I’ll eat them, but otherwise I’m starting to find nuts intrigingly complex. Its strange: I hated foods growing up, and now I am a self-confessed foodie. I LOVE food, and I love trying out new and exotic recipes and eating out at fancy restaurants.

Whats the point of all this, you wonder? There is no point! Its 6:30 in the morning and I’m half asleep and late for work.

ACK! Where is my left shoe?!

One thought on “Nuts!

Leave a Reply

