Newsday Tuesday #7

Just so you know, I’m still alive.
I’m having trouble thinking, for some reason. Seriously. I have no thoughts. Not even a wonder. In short, I feel stupid today.

So, while I try to prod my gelatinous grey matter awake, read these news stories instead.

Kids will eat healthy food, after all.

M16 not a flashy job, spy says.

USA 12th best nation in world, says UN. Iceland #1.

White Cougars on the prowl in touristy Kenya.

Muslim fundamentalists go nuts yet again.

If I could think beyond a few words, I’d actually comment on some of these news stories, especially the last one, as fundamentalists of all stripes really get my goat, but I am seriously unable to think of anything besides “ARG!”

(5 minutes later, I must take that back: I CAN think of this: its an insult to the Prophet to name a stuffed bear “mohammed” when half the worldwide muslim poulation is named Mohammed? The bear was named after the most popular boy in the class, for God’s sake! Its just a NAME! Its because the teacher is not muslim, but a white British Christian, that they think its an insult. How freaking hypocritical is that? But the teacher didn’t choose the name, their own children did! I’m so annoyed with this whole situation.)

So please, if you have a comment on anything, leave it here. I need the mental stimulation.

14 thoughts on “Newsday Tuesday #7

  1. For somebody who can’t think…. you’re doin a pretty good job!
    Sorry I have nothing stimulating to throw at you :)))
    congrats on the sexy blogger award… woohooo!

  2. For somebody who can’t think…. you’re doin a pretty good job!
    Sorry I have nothing stimulating to throw at you :)))
    congrats on the sexy blogger award… woohooo!

  3. i’m too depressed to read the news. but i wanted you to know i stopped by.

    and i agree about the teddy bear thing. i wouldn’t care if you named your teddy bear Jesus. what the heck is wrong with people?

  4. I know that I for one complain about the problems with the United States but when you read stuff like that, all I can think is “Thank heavens I’m American!!!!

    Yes, yes, very sexy blogger. 😛

  5. I know that I for one complain about the problems with the United States but when you read stuff like that, all I can think is “Thank heavens I’m American!!!!

    Yes, yes, very sexy blogger. 😛

  6. a handy hint:
    prodding the gelatinous grey matter is not the way the way to wake it up, contrary to popular opinion. It’s actually the way to give your self a lobotomy cheaply and in the comfort of your own home.

  7. Dawn: that’s okay!

    Woozie: is that a bomb on the bearded lizard’s head?

    Martha: I don’t think there’s anything wrong with people in general, but in this case, “they” are the Sudanese, whose government is behind the rape of Darfur.
    The islamic world is undergoing a bit of a crisis of the faith–torn between modernity and tradition–a crisis that creates an atmosphere of fear. In such an environment, the ambitious and the fearful rule, and evil wins.

    Jazz: I can’t say I’m surprised canada is in the top 5. Its a quiet, peaceful country, with low rates of violence and poverty, and a universal health care. That beats the good ol’ USA tremendously.

    Sigfried: no need to feel shy or hold anything back! 🙂 pretty strong words, those.

    Mama: I don’t know that I’m glad to be an American, per se, but I AM glad to live in a civilized western country. And I have no compunctions in saying that I think Fundamentalist Islamic culture is barbaric.

    Kara: deeerrr, lo-bot-meeee, yaaaay! *drools*

  8. Sometimes it seems to be an avocation of those with too much time on their hands to deliberately find something to be offended about. I can’t imagine that reaction to the naming of a bear.

    You’re right on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

