The Blue Tea Meme

Dawn has tagged me for the Blue Tea Meme! According to the rules I need to devise a list of 5-10 courses I would take to fix mylife. It’s more fun to be in classes with friends, so include one class from the person who tagged me that I’d also like to take. Tag five other bloggers.

I miss going to school–that neverending adventure/chore of learning things that may or may not have anything to do with your future. If i could afford to take classes again I totally would, and these are the classes I would take–for fun, for learning, and for my future

  • Dance with Dawn, who simply hates exercizing. I dont hate exercizing, but I dont like it either. But I have always wanted to learn ballroom dancing, and it would be a fun way to get in shape, no?
  • Graphic design applications: Photoshop, Illustrator, Quark, and Indesign–I regret not investing in a professional education. My two degrees in Sociology and Fine Arts were fun and enjoyable educational experiences, but they do very little in making me employable–suitable more for the academic rather than professional life. As an art major, I should have taken graphic design courses just to get my feet into the professional art world upon graduation. I would do it now, in a heartbeat, if I were able.
  • Genetics: I dont know how much this would “fix my life” but it is a topic for which I have a lot of interest and passion. I wouldn’t be good at it, professionally, but it is something I would love to know everything about–iespecially the evolutionary genetics of viruses and bacteria, and epigenetics.
  • CAD (computer assisted design) for Jewelers: an essential skill for jewelry designers, knowing this would push me ever closer to my dream job as a Jewelry designer.
  • Advanced American Sign Language: To refresh my knowlege and signing skills, and to meet other signers and deaf people, for I do miss that sense of community.
  • Digital Photography: Brian bought me a fantastic digital camera for my birthday quite some time back, and I would dearly love to learn how to use it, as well as how to think like a photographer.
  • Creative Writing Workshop: not a class per se, for I already know how to write, but it would be great to have the environment around me that encourages self-discipline and copious production.
  • Business and Marketing for Artists/Writers: Legal issues, practical issues, marketing, etc…all the things that being a professional self-employed person needs to know to suceed. I have read plenty of books on this topic, but theres nothing like a class environment to make you apply the lessons to your life.
  • Yoga and Pilates: I would love to be flexible and relaxed and toned and these two fitness regimens are renowned for addressing those very things.
  • Massage: I want to be able to put Brian to sleep with massage. He loves it when I rub his shoulders and back–I’m not bad at it, but I do it by instinct, and to know what I am doing and how to do it better, well, that would be priceless.

I now tag (with no obligation to play) Jen, Em, Martha, Pool, and Kara.

9 thoughts on “The Blue Tea Meme

  1. How lovely it would be to not have to work and to just be able to take course after course. So much to learn, so little time. Sigh.

    Puss

  2. i’m going to post my response to this tomorrow. but tonight, i’m responding to your lovely award 🙂

    this looks fun. i would love to go back to school, so this should be fun!

  3. Puss: I’m interested in what you would choose to take! the only reason I didnt tag you was because I figured you were already taking the classes you would choose.

    dawn: everything? lol there are plenty things I dont want to do–statistics is one, nursing is another.

    cs–same here!

    martha: too bad school is so bloody expensive.

    pool: you honor me with your regard, I am humbled and pleased. thank you!

  4. The lifelong student. I hope to be able to learn from everyone. Too many disciplines, too little discipline.
    I tend to experiment and improvise a lot. I am mostly self-taught. But I am learning.

  5. Seig: isnt that what life is all about? Learning? Keep it up!

    Woozie: you got that right! ANY sort of creative endeavor is a struggle, which is why workshops are so popular, because they provide the structured demand for production as well as the supportive network to maintain that production. All workshops are encouraging, usually, and that is what I would like to get from it.

Leave a Reply

