Happy Thanksgiving!

It’s Turkey Day, otherwise known as Thanksgiving Day, the day where Americans drive miles to Mom’s or Grandma’s house to chomp on a oversized bird and a buttload of potatoes. Which is what we did. We just got home from a day at his Mother’s house, and yes there was an oversized bird, a buttload of potatoes, and plenty of pie. As required on this most traditional of days, I stuffed myself silly.

This is the day in which we are supposed to express our thanks and gratitudes to all that have enriched our lives: and in that vein I would say that I am very grateful to have my family, my dearest love, and my pets: for without them, I could not be happy. I must also be grateful for my job and my coworkers, for without them, I could not live. And finally, I am thankful for you, my friends in the blogosphere, for without you, I would have no community of belonging. Sophia posted this beautiful expression of thanks to her own readers, and I share her sentiments: thank you Sophia for expressing what I cannot.

I am also thankful to Dawn for giving me this new award for my trophy shelf: the ROAR award.

This one comes with rules:

The people given this award are encouraged to post it on their own blogs; list three things they believe are necessary for good, powerful writing; and then pass the award on to the five blogs they want to honour, who in turn pass it on to five others, etc etc. Let’s send a roar through the blogosphere!

My list of three things for good powerful writing:

  1. Write with confidence. It doesn’t matter if what you write is mere opinion or lurid fiction, you must project the belief that every word you write is the sheer TRUTH.
  2. Create deeper meanings with metaphor: forge connections by showing how two unrelated things, are in fact, the same.
  3. Be aware of your audience: your readers want detail and description, emotion and action–so choose your words wisely. Even your most mundane of postings can connect to your readers if you chose the most meaningful words–and these words are typically the ones that are CONFIDENT and METAPHORICAL

I now nominate the following bloggers:

Puss, Pool, Martha, Woozie, and Kara.

The day after Thanksgiving is known as Black Friday, the first holiday shopping madness of the season. For those of you who may have little ol’ me in mind on this most commercial of days, I present unto you my wish list (note: this is not to be taken as a command, but a guide, I am not greedy).

Gift cards–My favorite places to shop are:

  • Target
  • H & M
  • JC Penny
  • DSW Shoes
  • Ann Taylor
  • Barnes and Noble
  • Borders
  • Blick Arts
  • IKEA

My favorite places to eat:

  • Mesa Grill, NYC
  • The Chatterly’s, New Hartford, CT
  • Plan B, West Hartford, CT
  • Red Lobster
  • Olive Garden

And now Goodies for the tree:

  • A laptop would be nice, but new desktop would suffice.
  • Black gloves
  • Money is always good.
  • A Nintendo DS Lite with Zelda: Phantom Hourglass
  • A bread machine
  • A 1000-watt microwave
  • Some nifty cooking tools, to go with my new set of stainless steel cookware! (I totally lucked out on this, as the weekend after I burned my old pot, Macy’s had a mega-sale and I nabbed a 12-set of pots and pans for $40.00–down from the regular price of $100.00! I ROCK!)

Hey, you bloggers out there, what on YOUR wish list?

2 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Happy Thanksgiving!!! I hope you gnawed the heck out of some yummy turkey!

    Thank you for the fabu nomination. I am honored.

  2. Glad you are enjoying Thanksgiving and I hope you shop until you drop!

    I hope you don’t mind but I have tagged you with the Blue Tea Meme… no obligation whatsoever!

Leave a comment