Happy Halloween

I don’t dress up anymore. I work in a restricted clean room and cannot wear jewelry or makeup, and everything has to be covered in smocks and caps and booties. So there’s no point in dressing up for the work day. I COULD dress up for the evening, but again, there’s no point, as I live in a crappy apartment complex in a dubious neighborhood, and no children go trick or treating here. I don’t even have a social life. No Halloween parties for me. I don’t like parties anyway.

I used to LOVE dressing up. I would make my costumes from thrift store clothes, horror shop finds, and scraps of fabric. In my college years I dressed up as a Renaissance maid, a ghost, as Death Herself, and as Dexter from Dexter’s Lab.

The ghost costume was my absolute best costume creation ever. I dressed all in white, with two layers of old yellowed gauze veils slung over my shoulders (ectoplasm). I spray painted my hip-length red hair white with hints of red peeking out from the bottom. My face and neck I covered with white paint. the whole look was completed with black mascara and dark grey eye shadow all over my upper and lower eyes, and grey shadow on my lips. I was down right creepy. I received a few shrieks throughout the day at classes. and MANY looks sidelong…

10 thoughts on “Happy Halloween

  1. um.
    that costume is awesome.

    seriously… awe. some.

    can’t wait till tomorrow. i’m still a HUGE dork, and i’m totally dressing up. i’ll post pictures when i’ve got ’em 🙂

  2. Why don’t you come trick-or-treat with us?

    That ghost costume IS awesome. Too bad there are no surviving pictures of you as Dexter. 😦

  3. That costume is amazing. Very creative of you!!! You should have a date night that REQUIRES you and your honey to get dressy. EVEN if its to your local ice cream place. After all, it feels great getting dressy every once in a while.

  4. I went as The Fonz. Next year I’m wearing the same wig, but going as Prince. Or Little Richard. Loved the ghost costume.

  5. Great costume. You looked amazing!

    It would be hard to measure up to that one ever again, but I hope you had a fun Halloween anyway.

  6. Sorry, I forgot to reply to everyone! I’ve been distracted…

    martha: I can’t wait to see your pictures!

    Jen: Maybe Mom might have one or two…I didnt think to ask.

    pool; I feel so wierd in a dress.

    Kara: Coming from you, thats a compliment! Thanks!

    dawn: I’m a jack of all trades, master of none. My talent, such as it is, is limited.

    woozie: Whats “Pimpstalicious?”

    Franki: LOL. those three DO have the same hairdo! I never noticed that before!

    hearts: its was largely uneventful, which is fine by me. I’m getting old, ya know? LOL

    puss: good point. Maybe I’ll dress up next year!

Leave a Reply

