10 Random Things

Okay, wow. I definitely shouldn’t try blogging drunk again. What a wretched bit of writing! I will keep it online simply because its amazes me how a bit of booze can affect my consciousness. Plus, I think utter stupid silliness is hilarious.

Yeah, I CAN laugh at myself.

Well. before my wine binge, I begged everyone to feed me blog topics. I got a bunch of good suggestions, and the first one I shall use is Dawn‘s 10 Things Meme. Thanks Dawn!

Ten Random Facts

My Random Facts are:

  1. I am currently working two jobs: the first to pay my bills, and the other to pay off my credit card debts. I’ve been doing this a little over a year, and now I’m about half way there.
  2. I had my gallbladder removed via laparoscopic surgery at the tender age of 24, due to a gallstone. I now have four pale white scars on my torso: one just under my breastbone, one in my bellybutton, and two on my right flank.
  3. My right pinkie toe is genuinely double jointed. I can bend the first joint nearly a full 90 degrees to the right.
  4. I have no fear of heights. I can perch precariously on the edge of a cliff and look down and feel no fear of falling. I even once walked along the edge of a ledge holding only a tree branch for safety. (Yes, Mom, I know that’s stupid–and Brian yelled at me for it, so don’t worry about nagging me.)
  5. I was born with a redder shade of strawberry blond hair, that in the last year or two, has begun to fade to a dark ashy blond. I’ve heard it’s part of aging for redheads. I miss my color, though–it was my best asset!
  6. My greatest fault is that I have no ambition. I have dreams and desires and even plans to better my life and achieve my dreams, but I lack the drive to propel me from the stasis of the now to the change of tomorrow.
  7. My greatest virtue is my compassion. It enables me to feel respect for everyone, to hold off on judgements, and to see all points of view as valid and rational for the persons that hold them. I think I would have made an excellent Judge–if I had the ambition to pursue that dream despite my handicap.
  8. I actually prefer the word “Handicapped” to the word “Disabled”. I don’t feel like being deaf has rendered me un-able to do anything, but instead it makes doing the things “normal” people take for granted more difficult. Deafness handicaps my ease of function and assimilation–but it does not truly disable my abilities in anyway. The only way that term is appropriate is in defining my hearing loss itself. I have (almost) no ability to hear: my HEARING is disabled. But in all other human capacities I am fully functional–I am not disabled.
  9. I just signed up for my gym’s Biggest Loser contest. I needed the push to feel motivated to lose weight, instead of just wanting to look and feel thin and healthy. I will share my progress on this blog. To start: I am 5 feet 2 inches tall, I weighed in at 166.8 pounds, and my body fat measured at an appalling 38.7 percent (all of which is lodged in my hips, thighs, and ass.)
  10. I like to stay up late, even though doing so makes me wretchedly groggy the next day. I am currently ignoring my bedtime as I type. I will regret this in the morning.

I wont be passing this meme on to anyone. I find the whole notion of obligation to participate morally offensive (the last time I tagged anyone I felt disgusted with myself, so I wont be doing it again). But I do invite all my readers to play this game if they wish. If you do decide to take on this meme, the rules are as follows:

1. Link to your tagger and post these rules.
2. List ten (10) random facts about yourself.
3. Tag eleven people at the end of your post and list their names (linking to them).
4. These eleven persons would have to tag 12 people.
5. You could also tag back, if desperate !
4. Let them know they’ve been tagged by leaving them a comment on their blogs.

8 thoughts on “10 Random Things

  1. I like reading these memes, a giant peak into the people whose blogs I read.

    I stay up late too, and invariably pay for it the next day.

  2. i lack ambition, too. i hate that about me.

    and i need to get two jobs, too. i don’t know how else i’m going to pay of all this debt.

    and i love to stay up late, too. i can’t make myself go to bed before midnight unless i’m extremely sick or have to get up before 8 the next morning (i can stay up really late… but i am NEVER a morning person)

  3. I actually prefer the word “Handicapped” to the word “Disabled”.

    Even knowing that you are deaf, I have trouble thinking of you as either.

  4. Very interesting choice of things to share. I like to stay up late too. Recently my mind and body stopped letting me. 10 pm seems to be it these days.

  5. Very interesting choice of things to share. I like to stay up late too. Recently my mind and body stopped letting me. 10 pm seems to be it these days.

  6. Rachel–We’ve never thought of you as handicapped or disabled! You are our beautiful pink and white baby girl that simply doesn’t perceive sounds through the usual auditory route. You overcame those social and culturally imposed definitions long ago. Love You! Mom

  7. Bob: so many of those memes out there are great! They are very thought provoking and not that easy to complete!

    Martha: you can sleep until 8? OMG…how nice! I have to be at work at 7:30. And since I started going to the gym, I’ve been getting up at 5.00am. My bed time is now 9:30. Bah. I usually stay up later, cuz there’s so much to do.

    Kara: so many people in my life forget I’m deaf and say the same thing!

    Pool: yeah, as we get older, life gets more complicated. I’m a firm beleiver that how we sleep reflects how we live.

    Mom: The real world is not quite so clean-cut. However “well-adapted” I may be, those socially-imposed definitions still stand, and still affect my life, especially in the employment sector. I am deaf and no amount of adjustment could ever make me “normal.” (And no, I don’t think of myself as abnormal–I am just deaf. But that is itself a huge thing, and it defines me and my reality in so many ways.

    Puss: Ha. Only in print could I ever be anything other than ‘deaf’. Lol. In person, it would be obvious. If we ever met, it is unlikely you would think of me as “that deaf girl”, but the awareness of my state would always be there, even if (as it sometimes happens) you might momentarily ‘forget’, but you would still be aware of it: any interaction with me would necessarily require you to be fully cognizant of that fact. The same is true for me, as any interaction with anyone highlights that existential truth. Its impossible for me to forget.

Leave a Reply

