"Whoo! I’m rich, suckers!"

I had another spiritually relevant post planned, but instead I’m going to take a minor digression into the wonderful world of dead rich wackjobs.

I mean, what the fuck? $12 million dollar trust fund for a DOG? Granted, a beloved pet does need to be provided for upon the occaision of its owner’s death, but…$12 million? More than for any other recipient of her fortune?

Outrageous!

Doris Duke left only $100,000 to care for 4 dogs…in 1993. I’m quite sure inflation and cost-of-living hasn’t increased that much!

Brings to mind that age-old conversational piece: if you had a billion dollars/won the lottery/inherited from a long-lost ancestor, what would you do with the money?

Myself: well naturally, I’d pay off my debts, of which I have a substantial amount (Student Loans, Car, Credit Cards, you get my drift), as well as those of my loved ones. Then I’d buy a small home (small, mind you! none of the foolish supersized nonsense for me) and a small watercraft such as a sailboat.

I would not quit my job. Unless you’ve got a HUGE fortune, money dries up quickly, especially with taxes.

As for my charitiable contributions, I would invest in regional Art associations and foundations, and establish my own, a dream I’ve had for a few years now, since I graduated.: “The New England Institute of Metal Arts,” which would provide grants and residencies for emerging and
established artisians and designers, as well as a museum for historic collections and a gallery for the display and sale of contemporary works. I concieve it as being an educational and professional resourse for all those interested in the metal arts, with a library and rentable studios, and a summertime concourse for vendors to sell their wares, and an annual fall fundrasing gala and auction…(this is not a purely charitable endeavor, as I see myself reaping large amounts of money with such a business–for business it is!)

I could go on, so I’ll stop here and ask you, dear reader, what would YOU do with a fortune to dispose of? I want honest answers–let me see your selfish side as well as your giving one.

7 thoughts on “"Whoo! I’m rich, suckers!"

  1. i always like contemplating this. a few things i’d do (because i could go on and on and on)…

    -go to new zealand for a month or two
    -buy a new VW beetle in kelly green (they don’t make them in this color, but i’d have enough money to do the custom paint job thing
    -buy an old two story house and turn it into a bookstore (the second floor would have a coffee shop)
    -oh yes… pay off all my tremendous debt
    -donate money to the MS foundation and an RUF fund that was established in honor of a dear friend of mine
    -donate more money to a children’s fund of some kind (i’d have to do research before i pick which one)

    i think that’s enough… there are other things… but i think that demonstrates my very selfish side as well as some of what i’d like to do as far as charity

  2. Some people are miserable shits. Leaving money to a dog does not equal love for the dog. It equals a big middle finger to her family. She could have donated the money to anything in the world and she chose a dog. What a jerk.

    A fortune eh? I guess my daughter would get that horse AND go to college.

  3. Some people are miserable shits. Leaving money to a dog does not equal love for the dog. It equals a big middle finger to her family. She could have donated the money to anything in the world and she chose a dog. What a jerk.

    A fortune eh? I guess my daughter would get that horse AND go to college.

  4. Pay off my debts (including mortgage), see those closest to me right, give up work, buy pretty things, and play poker.

    Puss

  5. pay off debts, build our (small) dream house, make sure no one in our family had to ever worry about money again (not support them, but pay medical bills or settle any other financial disasters), support a couple of charities near & dear to my heart and TRAVEL. I would love to travel the world.

  6. Seems like everyone has debts to pay: I wonder if there is anyone who is not of the upper classes who doesn’t have debts? Has it really come to be that the vast majority of people cannot survive in our world without getting into debt? Sad, if so!

    Martha: I like your bookstore idea! And I’m not surprised to hear you select an MS foundation as your charity of choice. Good for you!

    Kara: amen!

    Pool: lol…I feel for you. I’m sure your daughter will have her horse someday.

    Puss: I wouldn’t have guessed you as a poker fan.

    Bob: I’m with you on the travel thing. That’s partly why I want a sailboat.

Leave a Reply

