Lilacs

I’ve always liked lilacs. They have a sweet and heady scent that never
fails to make me feel happy, like all is well with the world.

I was reading the life section of the local newspaper (www.rep-am.com),
and there was an article about an upcoming lilac show. I was surprised
to learn that they have 15 varieties of liacs. I thought there were
only the purple and the pinkish-white that I grew up with.

Then I go online and find out there are over a THOUSAND varieties of
lilacs!
http://www.gardenersnet.com/lilac/lilac04.htm

Not only that, lilacs come in all different colors and arrangements.
http://lilacs.freeservers.com/petalsandcolors.html

For descriptions of specific varieties, go here:

http://www.ipm.iastate.edu/ipm/hortnews/1995/5-26-1995/lil.html

After learning all this, I noticed that there are lilac bushes growing
everywhere in these parts. And I noticed they WEREN’T what I beleived
them to be. Here in Connecticut, the lilacs are lavendar or white or
pink, not the deeper purple or pale pink I am familiar with, growing up
in the Mountian West.

I am amazed at how ignorant, and how unaware of that ignorance I was. I
suppose it just goes to show how our beliefs and ignorances can cloud
our perceptions, leading us to see only what we are capable of seeing,
or preventing us from seeing what stands before us.

4 thoughts on “Lilacs

  1. But if one does not know they are ignorant then are they?

    Its a bit like that what is the sound of one hand clapping

    Graffiti

  2. I was just happy they weren’t overgrown bushes I had to cut down. They smell lovely though don’t they!!

  3. I was just happy they weren’t overgrown bushes I had to cut down. They smell lovely though don’t they!!

Leave a Reply

